About Laxmi Hariharan | Laxmi Hariharan

About Laxmi Hariharan

She had an awesome time launching TV channels for MTV and NBCUniveral (Syfy), when a near death experience spurred her to get writing. NOW. A one-time journalist with The Independent, she has since published the multi award winning The MANY LIVES Series. She also blogs for the Huffington Post, has written for The Guardian and been featured in publications including The Times of India. Married to a filmmaker and fellow author, her life in London, often resembles a dramedy of errors film script. She is also the proud owner of @laxmi

Answers to frequently asked questions about the MANY LIVES FUTUREVERSE

1. How did you conceive Ruby Iyer?
When a young photojournalist was raped in the centre of Bombay in broad daylight a few years ago. It made me furious. But what could I do about it? Then, I had a vision of a young girl who would not back down; who would follow her instincts, stand up for herself, regardless of consequences. Thus Ruby Iyer was born.

2. Why should I read the RUBY IYER DIARIES?
This 10,000 words novelette, is an easy, low commitment way for you to decide if you want to invest more time in reading the series.

3. What is the MANY LIVES Futureverse?
The MANY LIVES Futureverse begins with the story of Ruby Iyer and Vikram Roy in Bombay 2014-15. It extends to their progeny, with stories set in Bombay & London 2035 and Bombay & London 2060.

4. What connects all the books in the MANY LIVES Futureverse?
Ruby Iyer's story is connected to that of Catherine of Braganza, the Portuguese princess in whose dowry Charles II received the seven islands of Bombay. Catherine's sword has the power to control nature if and only if it is used by her direct illegitimate bloodline, for there is no record of her having had children. As each generation after Ruby comes of age, turns eighteen and inherits the sword, their story is triggered.

5. Is it Mumbai or Bombay?
The city changed its name in 1995. I grew up in Bombay and the MANY LIVES Futureverse is also set in Bombay, now a city that does not exist in the real world.

6. What should I read your books?
I believe you will find yourself reflected in one, or perhaps in many of my characters. I hope my stories will help you understand yourself better, help you unravel your own life motivations, just as I peel back the layers of my life when I write.

7. What is your style of writing called?
My style is 'Suzanne Collins meets Haruki Murakami.' Magic realist,fantastical, action thrillers, with young protagonists as heroes. I havealso been called a mainstream Angela Carter

8. What is the suggested order of reading the MANY LIVES Universe
Each is a standalone novel, however you can also read the books in this order.
• The Ruby Iyer Diaries
• The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer
• The First Life of Vikram Roy
• or just buy The Ruby Iyer Boxset (0.5 -1.5)

Also in the series
• Elusive Life (Story of Kay Braganza)
• Second Lives (Finale of Ruby and Vikram's story)
• UnTamed Life: The Story of Wolf girl Leana Iyeroy.
• Secret Life
• Shoot The Moon Series

View all my books